Alumni Awards

Illinois Computer Science Alumni Awards

The Department of Computer Science annually recognizes alumni and faculty members who have made professional, technical, educational, or service contributions that brings distinction to themselves, the department, and the university. We welcome all alumni and friends to be a part of this tradition: nominate someone you know worthy of this honor, and come back to campus to celebrate with each new class.

Congratulations to our 2018 honorees:

  • Early Career Achievement Alumni Award: Vilas Dhar
  • Distinguished Achievement Alumni Award: Doug MacGregor
  • Early Career Educator Alumni Award: Eric Gilbert, Karthik Pattabiraman
  • Distinguished Educator Alumni Award: Ron Cytron, Won Kim, David Lassner
  • Distinguished Service Alumni Award: Ross Erlebacher
  • Distinguished Achievement Memorial Award: Gene Golub
  • Scott H. Fisher Computer Science Teaching Award: Craig Zilles
  • C.W. Gear Outstanding Junior Faculty Award: Ranjitha Kumar
  • David J. Kuck Outstanding Thesis Awards: Matthew Sinclair (PhD), Dimitrios Skarlatos (MS)

Learn more about this year's recipients here.

The WCS Keynote Speaker this year is Rita Patel Jackson (BS Math & CS '88). She is currently the Head of Global Marketing - Analytics and Artificial Intelligence Solutions at GE Healthcare. Her talk will be Thursday, October 18 at 7:30PM in Siebel Center 2405.

This year's Keynote Speaker is Mark Tebbe (BS CS '83), who is currently the Chairman of ChicagoNEXT. Join us for his talk on Friday, October 19 at 3:00PM in Siebel Center 1404.

The CS Awards activities are held in conjunction with the Celebration of Excellence Student Awards Program and the Women in Computer Science Alumni & Student Dinner, making it an ideal time to visit campus. 

  • Thu., Oct. 18, at 5:30pm: Celebration of Excellence Student Awards Program (free), 1404 Siebel Center
  • Thu., Oct. 18, at 6:30pm: Women in Computer Science Alumni-Student Dinner ($25), Siebel Center Atrium
  • Thu., Oct. 18, at 7:30pm: Women in Computer Science Keynote with Rita Patel Jackson (free), 2405 Siebel Center
  • Fri., Oct. 19, at 12:30pm: CS Awards Alumni Panel (free), 2405 Siebel Center
  • Fri., Oct. 19, at 3:00pm: CS Awards Keynote with Mark Tebbe (free), 1404 Siebel Center
  • Fri., Oct. 19, at 5:30pm: CS Awards Dinner and Ceremony ($50), I-Hotel

Register Now

See Past Recipients

The recipients of the 2017 Illinois Computer Science Alumni Awards. Seated (from left): Rajesh Karmani, Nikil Dutt, James E. Smith, Aditya Parameswaran, Marianne Winslett, Kishor Trivedi, Andrei Ştefănescu, and Svetlana Lazebnik. Standing (from left): Isaac J. Hall, Richard M. Schell, Steven Ko, Drina C. Yue, Interim CS Department Head Vikram Adve, Jill Zmaczynski, Xiang Ren, and Scott Fisher.